The Eastern Orthodox Church

The Eastern Orthodox Family
The Eastern Orthodox Church is the body of Christians whose roots extend directly back to Jesus Christ and His Apostles through the unbroken Apostolic Succession. The doctrines of the Eastern Orthodox were created through a series of Church councils. The most authoritative among them are the Seven Ecumenical Councils held between the fourth and eighth century.

These councils were convened out of the necessity to resolve conflicts that had arisen out of conjectures such as Arianism, Nestorianism, and Monothelitism. Towards the end of the first thousand years of existence, differences developed between the Church in the Eastern and the Western Roman Empire, leading to the Great Schism in 1054, which divided the Chalcedonian Christians into Catholicism and Eastern Orthodoxy.

The Eastern Orthodox Communion
Ecumenical Patriarchate of Constantinople (Autonomous Orthodox Church  of Finland, Self-Governing Orthodox Church  of Crete, Self-Governing Monastic Community of Mount Athos, Exarchate of Patmos, Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of Thyateira and Great Britain, Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of Italy and Malta, Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America, Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of Australia, Exarchate of the Philippines, Patriarchal Exarchate for Orthodox parishes of Russian Tradition in Western Europe, Autonomous Orthodox Church  of Korea), Orthodox Church  of Albania, Orthodox Church  in America, Orthodox Church  of the Czech Lands and Slovakia, Orthodox Church  of Greece, Orthodox Church  of Poland, Patriarchate of Alexandria, Patriarchate of Antioch (Self-Governing Antiochian Orthodox Christian Archdiocese of North America), Patriarchate of Bulgaria, Patriarchate of Georgia, Patriarchate of Jerusalem, Church  of Cyprus, Autonomous Church  of Mount Sinai, Patriarchate of Russia (Autonomous Orthodox Church  of Japan, Autonomous Orthodox Church  of China, Self-Governing Orthodox Church  of Ukraine, Self-Governing Orthodox Church  of Moldova, Self-Governing Orthodox Church  of Latvia, Self-Governing Estonian Orthodox Church , Moscow Patriarchate, Self-Governing Russian Orthodox Church  Outside Russia, Exarchate of Belarus), Patriarchate of Romania (Autonomous Metropolis of Bessarabia), Patriarchate of Serbia (The Orthodox Ohrid Archbishopric).